When the weather outside is frightful…knit!

I’ve been taking a break from sewing to knit. One Christmas a couple years ago I got the Sock Knitting Master Class by Ann Budd.

20140106-165116.jpg
I simplified one of the patterns in the book to practice knitting a basic sock shape. That took me about 3 weeks to complete, which was longer than I expected. For my first attempt the sock has a good shape but noticeable runs in the sock where the double pointed needles met. But that could just be due to my inexperience. I decided to take a break and knit some other projects before starting the other sock.

Last winter I knitted 3 scarves shown in the picture above. Using the Stitch ‘n Bitch books this winter I knitted hats and a pair of mittens to compliment the scarves.

20140106-173445.jpg
I just completed the second mitten today. I had never knitted mittens before and was a little nervous since the process is similar to knitting a sock. But the mittens turned out great! I’m more motivated to knit the second sock and hopefully that won’t take 3 weeks to complete. 🙂

2 thoughts on “When the weather outside is frightful…knit!

  1. Amanda, learn to do the “magic loop” and knit your socks on a circular needle. It helps eliminate the ladders. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

