Completed Simplicity Pattern 2250

A year or so ago during a Simplicity pattern sale at JoAnn Fabrics, I bought several Cynthia Rowley for Simplicity patterns. I really liked the interesting look of the bodice in pattern 2250.

20140406-163141.jpg
After I bought the pattern it took awhile for me to buy the fabric. I had planned to buy seersucker once it went on clearance, but then I found this fun vintage looking stripe (swatch shown above) that I liked better. Fabric at JoAnn’s

20140406-164427.jpg
When I sat down to start sewing the pattern, the bodice was very intimidating. There’s several darts on each side, pleats, and folds that give the bodice it’s shape and look. The inner lining helped cinch in all that fabric to make the bodice look more structured.

The skirt has a combination of pleats and gathers at it’s upper edge. Sometimes I’m horrible at gathers. I’ll get the gathers pinned nicely to the bodice but flatten them all out by accident when I sew the pieces together. But this time I did it correctly! There’s supposed to be spots that are flat! Also the skirt has pockets. Super fun! The directions were easy to understand and I was able to add them into the side seam easily.

20140406-165746.jpg
My favorite part of this dress is the ruffle on the top edge of the back of the bodice. I’m not sure I like the ties. When knotted the knot of the ties hangs loosely. This is probably because I made the dress a larger size since I’ve experienced other Cynthia Rowley patterns running small for me in certain areas. Even though I pre-washed the fabric, I’m glad there’s extra room in case the fabric shrinks during washing. 🙂
>

Leave a Reply

