New dress! Vogue Pattern 8870

I’ve been spending a lot of time cleaning and purging which doesn’t leave much time for sewing. When I got to my fabric stash difficult decisions had to be made on what to keep. But I found the fabric for this dress all cut I just needed to sew it together. 🙂

20140706-104254-38574490.jpg

The teal polka dot silk fabric was leftover from a skirt I made. The sea foam organza had been part of a very puffy dress I made for a wedding that was collecting dust in my closet. The organza is actually two layers but still very see-through. I would need some kind of lining and I liked how the polka dot fabric shimmered through the organza when used as a lining.

20140706-105847-39527862.jpg

I didn’t have enough fabric for the skirt to make the tapered hem. Instead of a zipper the dress has elastic to cinch the waist. I use this style of construction frequently and it’s so comfortable to wear!

Leave a Reply

